2016 Spring Writing Contest Results

The Winnipeg Free Press and the Writers’ Collective of Manitoba are pleased to announce the winners of the Short Fiction and Marie Barton Postcard Fiction Contest.

Adult Short Fiction
First Place: Shayne Ostrowski for Cruise
Second Place: Raakel Peter for Ms. Veronika
Third Place: Linda Lafontaine for Annabelle

Senior Student Short Fiction
First Place: Jenica Sul for Musings About Death
Second Place: Niina Dubik for In Between
Third Place: David Dyck for Keeping Your Humanity

Junior Student Short Fiction
First Place: Rochelle Millar for Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder
Second Place: Sasha Houle for Bloodshed
Third Place: Elyssa Friedenberger for Untouched Love

Human Spirit Student Award

Aaron Jasper Dimacali for The Old King

Marie Barton Postcard Fiction Award
First Place: Melody Rogan for Entrada
Second Place: Linda Lafontaine for A Silhouette
Third Place: Eleanor Penner for Hang in There